Commonwealth Distance Learning Master’s Scholarship

By | February 28, 2024
Commonwealth Distance Learning Master’s Scholarship

The Commonwealth Distance Learning program is one of three Master’s programs facilitated by the Commonwealth Scholarships Commission.

Alignment with Development Goals

Administered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK (CSC), the UK government scholarship scheme aligns with international development goals. Operating under the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP), it reflects the UK’s enduring commitment to the Commonwealth.

Empowering Future Leaders

The CSC’s objective is to attract exceptionally talented individuals from diverse backgrounds, nurturing them into leaders and innovators upon their return home. This initiative blends sustainable development with the UK’s national interests, fostering global partnerships and collaboration. By supporting individuals with remarkable potential, the CSC contributes to both global development and the cultivation of future leaders worldwide.

Empowerment through Distance Learning Scholarships

Supported by the UK Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO), Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships empower capable individuals to acquire training and skills crucial for sustainable development, which may not be readily accessible in their home countries.

Eligibility and Application Process

Intended Beneficiaries: Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are intended for candidates from eligible low and middle-income Commonwealth countries, enabling them to undertake part-time taught Master’s study with UK universities while remaining in their home countries.

Application Period: The application period for Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships for the academic year 2024/25 is currently open. Interested candidates can submit their applications until 16:00 GMT on Thursday, 28 March 2024. These scholarships are intended for studies commencing in September/October 2024.

Application Process: The CSC exclusively accepts applications and accompanying documents through the online application system. Prospective candidates must not only apply for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship through the CSC’s online platform but also independently secure admission to an approved Master’s course at a participating UK university.

Selection Process: Applications for the Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship will be shared with UK universities, which will nominate their selected candidates to receive the scholarship by May 2024. Subsequently, the CSC will verify that the nominated applicants meet the eligibility criteria. Successful candidates will be notified by the universities about their Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship awards in July 2024.

Applicant Eligibility and Criteria

To be eligible for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, applicants should:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person.
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country.
  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases.
  • Be unable to afford to study the program without this scholarship.

Commitment to Fairness and Transparency

The CSC is committed to identifying individuals with exceptional potential to drive positive change. Upholding a policy of equal opportunity and non-discrimination, the CSC actively encourages applications from a diverse pool of candidates. Further details regarding support for candidates with disabilities can be found in the CSC disability support statement.

Policy and Procedure

The CSC is steadfast in its commitment to administering scholarships and fellowships with fairness and transparency. Comprehensive information on this commitment can be found in the CSC Anti-Fraud Policy and Procedure, along with guidance on reporting fraud.

Safeguarding Commitment

Additionally, the CSC actively prioritizes the well-being of its beneficiaries, staff, Commissioners, and all individuals associated with the CSC. All stakeholders, including staff, Commission members, award applicants and recipients, and suppliers, are expected to align with the CSC’s Safeguarding Policy. This policy outlines the obligations for safeguarding, and any concerns in this regard should be reported to the Commission via

Eligible Countries

Please see the list of eligible countries below as stated in the DAC list published in January 2022: Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, Ghana, Grenada Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands.

Selection Process

Each participating UK university will conduct its own recruitment process to select a specified number of applicants for Distance Learning Scholarships. Universities must put forward their selected applicants to the CSC in early May 2024. The CSC will then confirm that these applicants meet the eligibility criteria for this scheme, and universities will inform applicants of their results in July 2024.

Selection Criteria

Selection criteria include:

  • Academic merit of the applicant.
  • Potential impact of the work on the development of the applicant’s home country.